Author

Twilight Crazy weekend

About a year ago I found out that there is such a thing as a Twilight Convention. They are similar to the more well-known Comicon. My daughter has been a huge Twilight fan. She has read all the books, seen all the movies and absolutely loves everything Twilight. So, of course we bought tickets to go meet the stars. Thus our year-long preparations began. We created costumes to wear – we went as Bella & Edward, the morning after scene & were covered in feathers. Then my daughter who is extremely artistic created a beautiful centerpiece for the wedding reception contest.  Unfortunately she didn’t win that – I still say hers was the best though! The picture doesn’t do it justice but here it is anyways for you to get a feeling for it.

So, after a long year of anticipation and preparation, this weekend I finally took my daughter to the Twilight convention in Novi, Michigan. We stayed in the Sheraton, which was hosting the convention. To our delight we were not only able to check in early, but we also received a room on the “card access only” floor that the stars were staying on as well. This gave an added bonus to our weekend because we got to ride the elevators with the stars and see them in the hallway. Some of them were even hanging out in the lounge area on that floor chatting up the fans – US!!! Over the course of the weekend we met some of the wolf pack – Sam, the Alpha wolf as well as Paul & Seth, Demetri of the Volturi was there & Kate of the Denali clan was there too. I have never done anything like this before. It was quite interesting to listen to them speak and get a feeling for their personalities. Some of them were nothing like their characters and others seemed to fit the role perfectly. We also got to hear loads of funny stories and pranks that happened on the Twilight set. Dancing the night away with the stars at the wedding reception was a lot of fun too – I think A liked that part the best – Oh and all the hugs from Seth!!!

My favorite part was getting an entire weekend of one on one with A! Having three kids keeps me pretty busy and getting time alone like that with one of them is never often enough it seems. We had a great time together with no interruptions or distractions. I would definitely recommend a weekend retreat with your kiddies every once in a while. It really helped me to reconnect to her and I’m sure her to me as well. We had a blast and I can’t wait for the next movie craze so I can take B somewhere – oh & the room service for breakfast in bed – that was a nice touch too!

One response

  1. Pingback: “Life, Sin, & Blood”: Just Another “Twilight” Rewrite? ~ by MagicalWolf « The Twilight Fun Blog

Leave a Reply

