Author

School fundraisers

We are seven weeks into the school year and I am up to my eyeballs in fundraisers. For my son in grade 7 we have sold chocolate bars, purchased hot lunches for every Friday and participated in a pumpkin patch/bake sale. For my youngest in Kindergarten we have sold cookie dough, holiday wrapping paper and assorted seasonal gifts. For my oldest daughter in high school and I dare say this is the worst one…  Her class is going on a field trip to Quebec City for a week. This trip is $800 Canadian dollars and the school is doing NO Fundraising for it. You have a certain date to pay it by and if you don’t you don’t go – cash only of course!

So A and I put our heads together to come up with our own fundraiser and came up with cupcakes. Everyone likes cupcakes right?

Let me just say – my home has been transformed into a bakery. Everything cupcakes is happening at my place. Sales have been going surprisingly well for her but she does have a long way to go still. For those of you who haven’t been to my home it is “cozy” (that is nice for small – lol). Needless to say I can’t wait until we have raised all the funds for this trip.

My words of wisdom and the moral of this story is don’t complain about the fundraising grade schools do because it pays for everything and apparently karma is waiting to kick your @$$ when they get to high school!!!

Leave a Reply

