Author

The Battle of the Greys

About 6 weeks ago I was at the local drug store and they were having a sale on hair dye. Since I am an active participant in the War against Greys I decided I would pick up two boxes of the same color and save myself some cash and I wouldn’t have to run to the store and pick up more 4-6 weeks later.  I colored my hair and put the other box in the closet for the next use. All was good, my greys were banished and the world was a happier place.

But then, the Greys returned – unwelcomed and unannounced, shimmering like beacons on the top of my head. As they wound their havoc across my scalp I knew it was time to take action once again. Without any delay I went to the closet and grabbed the box that I knew I had stored for just this sort of catastrophe. I promptly brought the box into the bathroom and tore it open. With gloves at the ready I begin mixing the emergency safety kit (hair dye) for immediate evacuation of the greys. It looked a little different, but with my iron clad focus in place I would not be distracted by such miniscule anomalies.

I proceeded with the application process going directly for the root of the problem. As I attacked the greys with a furocity unknown to the youth of our kind a brief flicker crossed my mind that something was different from the last time this happened. Determined to get the job done I again pushed this thought away and continued with the important work at hand. However, as I applied the final touches to my hair and started to feel the years of my youth return to me, a new horror dawned in my mind.

You see, a couple of years ago I did the same thing in the drug store. I bought two boxes that were on sale and brought them home. I used the first one, storing the second in the closet – only problem was that after I used the first box I decided I didn’t like the color. I left it in the closet thinking maybe one day Amy might want to be a red head.

Long story short – I grabbed the wrong box, forgetting there were two distinctly different colors in there.

My new existence is that of Strawberry Shortcake because it is berry, berry red. Do not feel badly for me though, I will continue to battle the greys. I wear my red proudly – lol!!!!

strawberry-shortcake

4 responses

  1. OOOHHHH NOOOOOO!!!!!! 🙂

    Like

    October 9, 2013 at 11:16 pm

  2. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    WELL…I’VE LARGELY LOST THIS BATTLE…WHAT’S LEFT ISN’T WORTH COLORING!!! (SEE GRAVATAR FOR CONFIRMATION OF THIS).

    Like

    October 9, 2013 at 11:17 pm

    • klunansky

      Lol – it is definitely an ongoing battle for me 😉

      Like

      October 11, 2013 at 1:54 pm

      • AYE-YUH…You’d SEEN my gravatar close-up? 🙂

        Like

        October 11, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Leave a Reply

