Author

Eventful Holiday Shopping

A few years back when A was a bit younger and really into Barbies, she wanted a very specific – special – Barbie. It was a singing Barbie…actually two of them. When you put them together and pushed their buttons they would sing a duet. These Barbies were lovely as they all are and of course they had a movie to accompany them. A was very excited and didn’t ask for anything else – this was the most important item. She has always been very specific on what she wants or needs. B on the other hand changes his mind every other day – most years I give him cash or a gift card as a result of too many disappointments. I had always thought of A’s specific wants to be a good thing…except for this year. Apparently every other girl on the planet wanted that same doll. I had checked every store multiple times a week trying to get my hands on one. When I was finally at the point that I was not going to find one, I did. One glorious day at Toys R Us I found the dolls stuffed – mostly likely hidden – behind another Barbie display. There were tons of other parents scouring through the Barbie displays, no doubt, looking for the same one I was. In fact when I found it, I was scared someone might attack me for it. I decided the only safe way to get this doll was to stuff it under my jacket and in my parental desperation that is exactly what I did.

Momentarily I was proud of myself for escaping the parenting frenzy that I left behind at the Barbie display, but once I got out of reach I realized that I was walking around in Toys R Us with a Barbie shoved inside my jacket and looking like a shoplifter to any security details that might be watching me. Luckily no one tackled me to the ground for the Barbie or for possibly shop lifting it. I made it to the cash register and even made it home to wrap it and be the big hero on Christmas day.

Definitely some serious holiday anxiety though!!!

Barbie

Happy Shopping 🙂

Leave a Reply

