Author

Teaching Your Kids About Remembrance Day

The other day I took the kids out to get their flu shots – always a fun journey. I usually trick them into going so I don’t have to listen to them whine all the way. However, A & B have caught onto my game so it’s not working the way it used to. Anyways, we all went in rolled up our sleeves and got the shot. The kids did really good, no dramatic melt-downs or anything. Dad was the biggest complainer and refused to get one – such a suck – like I’ve always said…my 4th child!!!

Once you are done getting your shots you have to sit in a waiting area for about 15 minutes to make sure you don’t have any allergic reactions or anything. We were at a local community center and the Veterans were having some kind of leading up to Remembrance Day event. We couldn’t really see what they were doing from the waiting area but we could see them in uniform and hear the bag pipers and of course see all of the poppy’s. C had seen a commercial on TV as well and as they are somber in nature she was saddened by it and was able to make the connection that this commercial had something to do with what was going on in the community center. She told me she felt sad about the commercial and asked what it all meant. – she’s 5 –

I told her that every November we have a special day called Remembrance Day that we stop to remember and be thankful of the soldiers who fight to protect us so we have a happy safe home to live in. People wear the poppy’s to show that they are respecting and supporting our Soldiers.

She got really quiet and thoughtful and said she understood. I wanted her to feel a connection though, she may have been just processing it all, I’m not sure, but I decided to tell her that her Uncle K is a Soldier. Well, that did it. She freaked out. “OMG Mom, Uncle K is a Soldier??? I can’t believe it!!! – She was so excited to know a Soldier. She announced it to everyone in the waiting room and then anyone who would listen to it after that. We stopped and got our poppy’s on the way out and I put hers on for her. She said, “I’m going to wear mine every day of the year.”

Definitely a Remembrance Day I will not soon forget.

remembrance day

 

Thank you for the sacrifices you make everyday ❤

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Lest We Forget | My Infernal Imagination

  2. Pingback: DAY 7: A-OK | the noel project

  3. Pingback: A Day of Forgetfulness | THE SCARECROW

Leave a Reply

