Author

Paranormal Axis: Evolution Sneak Peak

With the Paranormal Axis: Evolution publishing date of July 2017 quickly approaching I thought you might enjoy a sneak peak at the final book of the trilogy…

Mike found himself in a very different place from earth. Not a reality like he had been in at the Inn either, this was a dark desolate place, a dimension of the dead.

Everything that had once lived on earth but that was now dead lived here. Trees, animals, people and other worldly creatures that he had never seen before, all dead. Like a world of zombies, only they weren’t interested in eating your brains.

There was no color, everything was in tones of grey’s and black. The only light came from a constant electrical storm crackling and sparking in the sky.

Most of the beings here seemed all very negative, either crying and sad, hostile and angry or just scared and lost. It definitely wasn’t anybody’s happy place.

When Mike had first died the Grim Reaper had tried to take him and the other freed spirits but it didn’t take long for the Angel’s to swoop down. They flew down and scooped up all of the innocent souls like an eagle would catch its lunch.

The Reaper fought hard, but was no match up against so many of these angelic birds of prey. The Angels took most of the Reapers souls, leaving only a couple for him to transport to a different, much more unthinkable place.

While all of this chaos had been going on, that’s when Mike had spoken to Emma. It was brief but it was long enough to attach himself to his ring.

Then at that very moment one of the Angels swooped down beside him.

“We cannot take only part of a human. As long as you are fractured and part of you is attached to that ring you are bound to wander in purgatory, never moving forward.

When you have completed your journey, let go of the ring and we will come for you. Be warned though, the longer you stay in purgatory the more confused and attached you will become to the ring until you cannot and do not want to let it go. Once that happens you will be lost with no help, or hope in purgatory forever” the Angel warned me.

I had heard what he said, but the entire time I was just in awe of the beauty of this creature. It had no color other than its eyes. Everything was a radiant glowing white. There was no skin color, no hair color, nothing unique or different about any of them, just the most fantastic mystical grey eyes. The Angels were in a half human half bird like form – oddly enough similar to the Sluagh, only very beautiful. The wing span was massive, the feet were talons but the hands were human. As I stood in front of this Angel and heard everything it said to me, at no time did I have any fear.

It gave off a feeling of love in gradient waves from the white light shimmering off its silky and flowing body and the spirit behind those grey endless eyes drew me in more. The pureness of this love and being was something I had never known before.

Then it stopped speaking. It had given its warning to me and was then gone as fast as it came.

The Grim Reaper hadn’t stuck around either. He had gone as quickly as he could. He wasn’t waiting for me, at least any place that I could see. I didn’t want to stick around to find out if he would come back though.

This is when the new awareness of purgatory became my current reality. With that love and light gone it was almost like I had fallen into a void where I was emotionless and stunned from the experience.

I watched the electrical storm zapping with an almost elegantly dangerous attraction but I managed to shake myself out of my stupor and remember the ring.

As soon as I thought of it I felt it tingling on my finger. I had to find where it was. I felt inside that I just knew where I had to go to find it. I sensed it, almost as if the ring was calling out to me, telling me or magnetically pulling me toward it.

I allowed the attraction to the ring to lead me forward. Making my way through the dismal dreary and almost apocalyptic domain I was careful not to disrupt any of the other beings.

It didn’t take me long though to figure out that I had someone or something on my tail.

It was following like a wispy shadow that darts about from the corner of your eyes. The second you look it’s vanished and you weren’t sure if you saw something or if it was your imagination. The faster I walked and the more determined I was, the more interested this shadow was. At some point it must have decided that it wanted to reveal itself to me because it stopped just long enough for me to fully see it.

The shadowy figure was an elf. It looked young and curious but then was gone as quickly as it had come. I knew it continued to follow me but I tried to keep my head down even more now and not make eye contact with anything. With an intrigued elf spying on me I rushed off into the foggy abyss. I didn’t know the way, but I knew where I would end up.

As I walked on I realized and whispered quietly to myself…

“The ring is at the Inn and the others will be there too.”

Leave a Reply

